If you are married to a Nigerien man you probably know a lot about your husband's country, however, I would still advise you to read further. Never know, you might just learn something.
My husband always says Nigeria is a very interesting country and it is very culturally diverse. Nigeria has a number of attractions for visitors, including interesting historical sights, colorful festivals and a vibrant nightlife.

Nigeria is a country located in the western region of Africa, with over 140,000,000 populations as at the last census. Nigeria is majorly a black African nation, blessed with numerous mineral resources, especially the black crude oil, found bountifully in the south-south, and south-east regions of Nigeria. Nigeria comprises of so many tribes, but the major tribes or dominant tribes in Nigeria are: Ibo, Hausa, and Yoruba.
(see my last post about Nigerian men)

Nigeria was colonized by Britain, and as a result, its official language is English, with other local dialects. Igbo, Hausa and Yoruba, as the major dominant local dialects.

Religion: Muslim 50%, Christian 40%, and indigenous beliefs 10%.

Nigeria officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a Federal Constitutional Republic comprising 36 states and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north.
The name Nigeria was taken from the Niger River running through the country.
The British colonised Nigeria in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century and Nigeria became independent again only in 1960.

List of cities in Nigeria and their population:

Lagos 7,937,932
Kano 3,848,885
Ibadan 3,078,400
Kaduna 1,652,844
Port Harcourt 1,320,214
Benin city 1,051,600
Maiduguri 1,044,497
Zaria 1,018,827


  1. Anambra
  2. Enugu
  3. Akwa Ibom
  4. Adamawa
  5. Abia
  6. Bauchi
  7. Bayelsa
  8. Benue
  9. Borno
  10. Cross River
  11. Delta
  12. Ebonyi
  13. Edo
  14. Ekiti
  15. Gombe
  16. Imo
  17. Jigawa
  18. Kaduna
  19. Kano
  20. Katsina
  21. Kebbi
  22. Kogi
  23. Kwara
  24. Lagos
  25. Nasarawa
  26. Niger
  27. Ogun
  28. Ondo
  29. Osun
  30. Oyo
  31. Plateau
  32. Rivers
  33. Sokoto
  34. Taraba
  35. Yobe
  36. Zamfara 
The flag of Nigeria was designed in 1959 and first officially hoisted on October 1, 1960. The two unique sea-green bands represent the forests and abundant natural wealth of Nigeria while the white band represents peace.

No comments:

Post a Comment